other fall bits

SONY DSClooking up and down

And then there was the owl hoodie that I had been stalking over at Threadless. I would look it up and ogle it, then think $50? No way. But one special day they had a deal going on and it was half-off hoodies! I love wearing them on my back. And here is a tee-shirt to make a librarian’s heart go pitter-pat (thanks, Carrie).

SONY DSC
The biggest creative endeavor this fall has been getting to know my new job and community of learners and teachers, my new library space, loving these 8th and 9th graders, teaching classes, and problem-solving a library with a very old collection and very few funds to reinvent it.
image
The average copyright year of this collection is 1986! Yes! Think what has happened in the publishing industry in the past 25+ years: Hello, YA literature, and Hello nonfiction that is meant to be interesting and enjoyable to read (thank you Malcolm Gladwell). What we have is a collection of books that are old with unappealing covers, books that are too long or obscure for this population. Oh, the other thing is that this school used to have 9th-12th graders. Can I interest you in a 500 page biography of Chekhov? Is anyone reading 500 page biographies of Chekhov anymore?! (Sorry Chekhov, we are getting more stupid because we have the internet now).

We’ve gotten a grant! (And I’m going for another one!) We’ve gotten donations to our manga collection (thanks to a student) and also  contemporary YA fiction books (thanks to a fellow librarian who is on a national reviewing committee but who teaches younger students). It’s coming right along. Every day brings some new adventures, and I’m having so much fun that I don’t even mind getting up at 5am every day. I have a library blog where I write about news and updates, tech tools I like, and some book reviews.

Just a little update on my creative work life!

Leave a Reply

