~festive season~

SONY DSC

Stars. Snowflakes. Quiet.

This stained-glass candle holder was designed and created by Jonas, at the studio of Hans Schepker during a geometry field trip with his class.


Remember the little red hat on the needles? Here it is on the head. His specifications: red, soft, earflaps, with a smudgkin (visible in first photo). Love the merino that I purchased from Over the Rainbow Yarn “where your fiber dreams come true.” Actually that tagline is completely true and it has everything to do with a lovely store with friendly folks and…wait for it… HOURS EVERY DAY, 10-7. This is a previously unheard of yarn store business model in the midcoast area and one that thrills me. A yarn store with hours that make it easy for me to go there and *spend my money.* Every day, if I want to. Easy peasy.

SONY DSC3rd stocking from the left was knit in two days by all four of the fabulous knitters in this house, from house yarn stash, for the girlfriend of my brother, A. The visionary behind the design was Mr. Crafty, who not only knits, but likes to knit out of the stash. Friends, I don’t mean to make you too jealous, but this means that I don’t have to feel guilty about knitting down the stash because Mr. Crafty does that for us. Which means I get to buy new yarn, guilt-free. Kudos to Mr. Crafty who stayed up until 2 a.m. to finish up the stocking just in time for St. Nick to fill.

We were going to be out of bread for Christmas morning, so I made up some no-knead sourdough bread from our own starter.  The starter was so active that the first rise was much shorter than expected, so I made sure to let it rise in a very cool location for rise #2, which was overnight. Also, since I don’t have two dutch ovens (only one, and too big at that), I used a couple of stainless steel pots with lids. And finally…since we are talking about Christmas morning, I didn’t fuss around with pre-heating those pots in the oven first, as the recipe suggests. I just put them in the cold oven as is, and then turned the oven on. Seemed to work just fine. The bread was unbelievably delicious. Thank you Annie Mahle for republishing the original Portland Press Herald column with the recipe! Thank goodness I had carefully archived my own copy.

Driving home from a quick jaunt to Southern New England yesterday (New Year’s Eve), there were two notable remarks made to me. The first, from a Starbuck’s barista, who told me to “Have fun tonight!” as I left with my beverage. That made me smile. Really? Do I look like the type of person who would be partying it up for NYE? I had a good chuckle about that. My NYE was blissfully spent at home, in a quiet boy-less house, with a bowl of my favorite Asian noodle soup to-go from the A-1 Diner, and Portlandia episodes on YouTube. Reading in bed at 9:30 and asleep by 10:30. I had fun.

When I was paying my toll at 295, the jolly toll-collector said: “Welcome home” when he took my money. How did he know?! I could have just been coming from South Portland. Did I look that harried from my epic day of driving? Did I show signs of relief to be driving on the nice uncrowded highways of Maine, with mostly sane drivers who believe (as I do) in the appropriate amount of space left between cars that are hurtling along at high speeds? (Oh and what’s up with seeing at least 4 drivers in CT pulled over on the emergency lanes, refueling. Who runs out of gas anymore?) I was so so so so so glad to be home in Maine.

SONY DSC Here is Jonas, because homework still must be done. Not that he was given homework over vacation, but he likes to keep up with his own deadlines. This is the peaceful moment right before I squawked: “Type with two hands!!!” You can see he’s wearing his birthday hat which may or may not already be lost. That’s how it is with hats.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

