…even more knitting

SONY DSCA little more on knitting. I do it because I like to have busy hands. And because I like to make things for other people. I like figuring out a new pattern and learning new ways to construct a garment, experiencing new yarns and how they knit up. I like making up my own patterns to fit the needs and wants and specifications and body parts of the people I knit for. 
SONY DSCHere’s a hat that was sent off last week to a recipient who gets a hot head, so he wanted to be able to flip up the edge of the hat so that it didn’t cover his ears! Shocking idea to me and a hat I would never want or wear. But here it is, in a merino/alpaca blend yarn by the nice folks at Good Karma Farm. I can’t remember what the colorway was called but it seemed like a beautiful Maine tidepool to me. This yarn is such a pleasure to knit.

And remember that hat for Sylvan? Earflaps with a smudgkin? Well it turned out it was a little bit short for his liking. And he *wasn’t wearing it* because it didn’t fit right. Can’t have that! I had to make it right, so I ripped out and knit a little bit more length to it. When I asked about the smudgkin, he opted out on the second go. So it’s an earflap hat, sans smudgkin, that actually fits his head how he likes it.

SONY DSCThe Over the Rainbow Yarn Knit-Along with the Sallah Cowl is coming right along! You may remember it from last post. I’m on the decrease side now (refresh yourself on the construction of this item here). I’m a little concerned I won’t have enough yearn for the neat-looking i-cord edging on this though.

SONY DSC

So, the boy who needed the neckwarmer has got one again! I promise I won’t give it to a needy chicken this time. This is Sylvan’s Warm Necker, which is so simple it seemed silly to even write any pattern notes at all. But let me tell you about this lovely yarn, shown in the last post also, the yummy yummy oh-so-soft merino by Malabrigo called Rasta. It’s really thick and I was knitting on size 15 needles—just one evening start to finish!

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

