late winter


SONY DSC

Snow lady? Snow Gent? Not sure about gender, but the boys put together this rockstar of a snow sculpture, with eyes made of the husks of milkweed pods, a birchbark tongue, and a wide sunburst of dried grass hair. Carrot nose, natch.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This handsome fellow below has quite a wardrobe of fine dress shirts. He asked for a lesson in ironing. I hate ironing shirts a lot and am no kind of expert, but I think I gave a passable lesson. When he realized the time commitment and high factor of fussiness involved, I think he was less enamored of having pressed shirts.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

We had another snow day last week. (The last?) Sylvan, inspired by Caine’s Arcade (who isn’t?!), created a few games of his own. This is a pinball machine.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

This pinball machine was another source of inspiration for the cardboard pinball machine that came after.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Here’s a picture of some of the supplies involved. That would be three kinds of tape, if you’re counting. Actually four, if you count the duct tape which is not pictured. It’s sometimes a messy place around here, but you can see why it’s necessary to take over the entire living room floor as your studio space.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Game #2 is a shooting game, which are pretty common at arcades. You use the standard wooden spoon anchor plus a rubber band as ammo, and the goal is to knock all these enemies down which have kidnapped your boss. Your boss is the green guy, above, surrounded by the red marks. If you shoot your boss, you lose automatically, obviously.

SONY DSC

~Tintin collection arranged by color~

SONY DSC

I’m down to two papers left plus intro and professional philosophy, if you’re wondering how the e-portfolio is coming. I wrote my most dreaded and hateful paper yesterday and moaned a lot, all day long, and procrastinated, and looked at funny blogs and was delighted to interrupt my terrible progress to do anything. For anyone. At any time. And then I would sit down and moan some more, kind of a depressed cow sound. I was too hot and too cold and it was too bright and my ankles were getting a wind on them so I went to get a blanket but then I was too hot again and my chair was too short and I needed a pillow and I was stuffy in my nose and uncomfortable and I had a headache. Plus it was windy out. And the topic of my writing was to:

Demonstrate understanding of quantitative and qualitative research methods and of the evaluation and synthesis of research literature.

4 thoughts on “late winter

  1. Bravo on your progress on the e-portfolio!! Keep on pushing to the goal. I enjoyed those pinball machines. Creativity abounds in your family!!

Leave a Reply

