~ugliest book cover 2014~


PicCollageWell, it’s weeding season in the library. And already I think I have found our finalists of Ugliest Book Covers 2014! What you see above are some of the strong contenders. (see past winners here and here.)
SONY DSC Cold Whisper by Rick Hautala was an early pick, I mean, really: HOLOGRAM COVER! And at lower right, the cover for Altered States was an easy pick for me because I was pretty much traumatized by seeing the terrible 80s film featuring Christopher Walken at the tender age of about 7.
SONY DSCThese covers are what passed for graphic design, once upon a time. A person designed and pitched these covers to their design team…AND THEY WERE PICKED.

{Imagine for a moment the ones that were *not*.}

On to happier things, did you check out that lovely little face, above, peeking sweetly from my teacup? My matryoshka tea bobber, a belated gift from one dear friend. On her underside, there is a little tea strainer and she floats! Also, she coincidentally matches my favorite tea/coffee mug.

And here’s how it looks when your tea has sufficiently steeped and you have a nice spot to rest your drippy tea leaves:

SONY DSCWe have some big, creative news around here: purchasing a really sweet plot of land and building a new home. I didn’t expect to fall in love with a piece of land, but this one just felt right as soon as we saw it. It feels familiar somehow and features a little stream, a spring, and three old oak trees. 
SONY DSC
And then the design process: we are building a custom modular home to our own specifications. What I’d like: well-insulated and space efficient. It turns out that I’m really spatially challenged when it comes to house-visioning and drawing in 2D. {I can envision 2D to 3D when it comes to knitting patterns and I excel at finding the exact right leftovers container for the amount of food that needs to find a home.} It’s almost like I have an alarming lack of language to describe how I feel about something on the page. I can’t see it easily, I have to work hard to picture myself in the space, doing the things I would do, and painting the space around me. I can’t solve the problems of space and am easily overwhelmed and defeated.

Thankfully, this is one of Mr. Crafty’s strengths (score on the husband front yet again). He seems to delight in it, the process, the modifications, the challenge. He says it’s helpful because I am really good at articulating what we actually use spaces for in our family. I think he’s just saying that to make me feel better for grunting and drooling, getting frustrated, discouraged, and irritable about not being able to do something. Our adventure is just beginning.
SONY DSC

~still life with zombie bud vase and gnome cookie cutter~

People ask me for book recommendations a lot and so I made this graphic  to visually represent some of my favorites; I’ll keep adding to it. In the center of the graphic are the ones that are truly superior, that have left their mark on me as a reader. The ones on the sides are also memorable, worthy of a recommendation, but not on the topmost shelf, so to speak.

And here, to terrify and shock and sear your retinas, dear readers, The Ugliest Book Cover of 2014:

photo-3

3 thoughts on “~ugliest book cover 2014~

  1. We designed and built a modular house that had great spaces, but the materials were cheap, cheap, cheap, and didn’t hold up.

    1. Hey Kate! Good to “see” you here. When did you build the modular and do you remember which company you used? We are considering two: Keiser (Maine) and Epoch (NH). Quality and energy efficiency really matter to us, so we’re trying to keep the design simple and putting more money into upgrading insulation, windows, flooring, and siding. Hope you are well. xo

Leave a Reply

